Search title image


Biennial Transportation Awards

Celebrating Excellence in Motion

MTC Award

2014 MTC Transportation Award Winners
Honoring People, Projects and Organizations

Grand Award

  • Mary King
    Chair, Bay Bridge Design Task Force

John F. Foran Legislative Award

  • U.S. Congressman George Miller

Miriam Gholikely Public Service Award

  • Bruce Beyaert & Trails for Richmond Action Committee

Doris W. Kahn Accessible Transportation Award

  • Naomi Armenta

Greta Ericson Distinguished Service Award

  • Cory LaVigne (posthumously)

David Tannehill Special Employee Award

  • Charles Davis,
    Transit Operator, San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency

Merit Awards

  • Good Karma Bikes
  • Caldecott Fourth Bore Project:
    • Alameda County Transportation Commission
    • Caltrans District 4
    • Contra Costa Transportation Authority
  • Devil’s Slide Tunnel Project and Trail:
    • Caltrans District 4
    • San Mateo County Department of Parks
  • Solano County Transit (SolTrans)
  • Gary Richards, “Mr. Roadshow”
    Bay Area News Group
  • Showcasing the Bridge & Bay:
    • The Bay Lights
    • Joseph A. Blum
    • Oakland Museum’s “Above & Below” Exhibit

Awards Presentation

Wednesday, October 22, 2014, 9 a.m.
Scottish Rite Center
1547 Lakeside Drive, Oakland
Grand Ballroom

Invitation (PDF)

See also:

About the Transportation Awards

MTC's Transportation Awards recognize people and organizations who have made extraordinary contributions to the way people get around in the Bay Area each day. For over three decades, MTC has recognized day-to-day and long-term efforts that are improving transportation in the region.

The MTC Award (pictured), with its handsome wood base and movable bearing, is 6" tall and 3" wide. The bearing, laser-engraved with the winner's name, is a universal symbol of motion.

MTC typically recognizes:

  • Transportation employees who excel at their jobs and go above the call of duty, or have shown long-term, steadfast leadership in their profession.
  • Innovative activities that promote more efficient use of the transportation network.
  • Citizens or organizations who have made significant efforts to inform and educate the public about transportation issues.
  • Successful efforts to improve transit service and encourage the use of alternatives to driving alone.
  • A person or organization whose efforts have resulted in significant improvement in transportation services for the elderly or persons with disabilities.
  • Extraordinary accomplishments in the field of community service, volunteerism, advocacy, leadership or minority affairs.

Winners are selected by a jury representing MTC and members of the public.

2012 winner: Ed Roberts Campus, a unique, cutting edge building, designed to create an environment that is usable by individuals of all ages, with and without disabilities.

2010 winner: Cycles of Change, an Alameda County nonprofit organization that teaches youngsters how to ride bicycles safely, and also how to maintain them.

2008 winner: Fannie Mae Barnes, S.F. Muni, first female cable car grip

2012 Awards

The 2012 award winners were honored at the Excellence in Motion awards ceremony on October 24, 2012, at Nile Hall in Oakland.

2010 Awards

The 2010 award winners were honored at the Excellence in Motion awards ceremony on October 27, 2010, at the Scottish Rite Center in Oakland.

Previous Awards

See a history of MTC's Awards Program