

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

David Canepa, Chair Jesse Arreguin, Vice Chair

Friday, January 12, 2024 9:

9:45 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor

Special Meeting

The Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee is scheduled to meet at 9:45 a.m. or immediately following the 9:40 a.m. Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Administrative Committee meeting, whichever occurs later.

This meeting shall consist of a simultaneous teleconference call at the following location(s): Contra Costa County Offices, 2255 Contra Costa Blvd., Suite 202, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523; and Napa County Administration Building, CEO Office, 1195 Third Street, Suite 310, Napa, CA 94559

Meeting attendees may opt to attend in person for public comment and observation at 375 Beale Street, Board Room (1st Floor). In-person attendees must adhere to posted public health protocols while in the building. The meeting webcast will be available at https://mtc.ca.gov/whats-happening/meetings/live-webcasts. Members of the public are encouraged to participate remotely via Zoom at the following link or phone number.

Members of the public participating by Zoom wishing to speak should use the "raise hand" feature or dial *9. When called upon, unmute yourself or dial *6. In order to get the full Zoom experience, please make sure your application is up to date.

Attendee Link: https://bayareametro.zoom.us/j/84240278213

Or One tap mobile:

+13462487799,,84240278213# US (Houston)

+12532158782,,84240278213# US (Tacoma)

Join by Telephone (for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location) US: 888 788 0099 (Toll Free) or 877 853 5247 (Toll Free)

Webinar ID: 842 4027 8213

International numbers available: https://bayareametro.zoom.us/u/kcPi7wYhEN

Members of the public may participate by phone or Zoom or may submit comments by email at info@bayareametro.gov by 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting date. Please include the committee or board meeting name and agenda item number in the subject line. Due to the current circumstances there may be limited opportunity to address comments during the meeting. All comments received will be submitted into the record.

Roster

David Canepa (Chair), Jesse Arreguin, (Vice Chair), Eddie Ahn, Ken Carlson, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund, Dorene M. Giacopini*, Matt Mahan, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, James P. Spering, Aaron Tiedemann, Vacant, and Vacant
*Non-Voting Member

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 11 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan,

Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee
Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

Absent: 2 - Committee Member Ahn and Committee Member Rabbitt

2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Spering and seconded by Committee Member Tiedemann, this was approved the Consent Agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee

Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

Absent: 2 - Committee Member Ahn and Committee Member Rabbitt

2a. Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the

December 8, 2023 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a 23-1477 2023-12-08 Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

Meeting Minutes Draft.pdf

2b. <u>23-1478</u> Washington, D.C. Legislative Update

Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

<u>Attachments:</u> 2b HANDOUT MTC Washington DC Legislative Update December

2023.pdf

3. State and Federal Legislation

3a. 23-1479 Overview of Governor Newsom's Fiscal Year 2024-25 State Budget

Proposal

Highlights of Governor's proposed Fiscal Year 2023-24 budget, including

planned transit investments.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 3a Summary Sheet Overview of FY2024-25 State Budget Proposa

<u>l.pdf</u>

3b. 24-0101 Regional Transportation Revenue Measure Enabling Legislation

Outline of proposed legislation enabling MTC to place a future regional

transportation revenue measure on the ballot.

Action: MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Attachments: 7a 24-0101 HANDOUT Hwy Capacity Investments Summary.pdf

7a 24-0101 HANDOUT Highway Investment Options Attachment.pd

Ī

7a 24-0101 Update Summary Sheet Transportation Revenue

Measure Authorizing Legislation.pdf

7a 24-0101 Attachment A Proposed Vision Statement and Key

Provisions Comparison with Prior Versions.pdf

7a 24-0101 Attachment B Presentation HANDOUT.pdf

7a 24-0101 Committee Summary Sheet Transportation Revenue M

easure.pdf

7a 24-0101 Attachment A Rider Focused Outcomes from Regiona

I Measure.pdf

7a 24-0101 Attachment B Key Provisions Summary Updated.pdf

7a 24-0101 Attachment C Proposed Vision Statement and Focus

Areas.pdf

7a 24-0101 24-0101 Attachment D Description of Expenditure Cat

egories.pdf

7a 24-0101 Public Comment Findley.pdf

7a 24-0101 Public Comment Joint Organizations.pdf

7a Public Comments Combined (15).pdf

7a Public Comments VTA.pdf

Written correspondence was received from Harold Findley and Joint Coalition.

The following members of the public were called to speak: Charles Lavery, Sebastian Petty (SPUR), Josh Arsay (Northern CA Labors Union), Amy

Beth Willis, Darton Ito (SFMTA), Manny Leon (CA Alliance), Alex Walker (BART), Peter Strauss (SF Transit Riders), Jonathan Kass, Max Siegel (SCC for Transit Riders), Emily Loper (Bay Area Council), Adina Levin (Seamless Bay Area and Voices for Public Transportation), Lauren Gularte (WETA), James Kuzsmal, Sara Greenwald, Monica Mallon, and Warren Wells (Marin County Bicycle Coalition).

Upon the motion by Committee Member Mahan and seconded by Committee Member Spering, this Report was adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

Absent: 2 - Committee Member Ahn and Committee Member Rabbitt

3c. <u>23-1342</u> Proposed Final 2024 MTC/ABAG Joint Advocacy Program

Final 2024 Joint Advocacy Program for MTC and ABAG, expressing the agencies' state and federal legislative priorities.

Action: ABAG Executive Board Approval

MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 7b 23-1342 Summary Sheet 2024 Joint Advocacy Program.pdf

7b 23-1342 Attachment A Final 2024 Joint Advocacy Program.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Ramos and seconded by Committee Member Noack, this Report was adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

Absent: 2 - Committee Member Ahn and Committee Member Rabbitt

4. Public Comment / Other Business

5. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be held on Friday, Februry 9, 2024 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA, and other remote locations. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.