



Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

David Canepa, Chair Jesse Arreguin, Vice Chair

Friday, April 12, 2024	9:45 AM	Board Room - 1st Floor

Roster

David Canepa (Chair), Jesse Arreguin, (Vice Chair), Eddie Ahn, Ken Carlson, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund, Dorene M. Giacopini^{*}, Matt Mahan, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, James P. Spering, Aaron Tiedemann, Vacant, and Vacant *Non-Voting Member

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Non-Voting Member Present: Dorene M. Giacopini, MTC Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz Ad Hoc Non-Voting Members Present: Commissioner Papan

The following individuals participated from noticed remote locations: Member Carlson and Member Eklund.

2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Noack and second by Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

2a. <u>24-0326</u> Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the March 8, 2024 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

<u>Attachments:</u> 2a 24-0326 2024-03-08 Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee <u>Meeting Minutes Draft.pdf</u>

Present: 13 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

2b.	<u>24-0328</u>	Legislative History
		Detailed list of bills the ABAG and MTC are tracking in Sacramento, including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.
	Action:	Information
	Presenter:	Georgia Gann Dohrmann
	<u>Attachments:</u>	2b 24-0328 Handout April Legislative History.pdf
2c.	<u>24-0329</u>	Washington, D.C. Legislative Update
		Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.
	Action:	Information
	<u>Presenter:</u>	Georgia Gann Dohrmann
	<u>Attachments:</u>	2c 24-0329 MTC March 2024 DC Report.pdf
2d.	<u>24-0470</u>	Assembly Bill 2353 (Ward): Property Tax Welfare Exemption
		Provides upfront savings on affordable housing developments by allowing nonprofit developers to withhold property tax payments while their application for a tax exemption is under review.
	<u>Action:</u>	Support / ABAG Executive Board Approval Support / MTC Commission Approval
	Presenter:	Julie Snyder
	<u>Attachments:</u>	8j_24-0470_Summary_Sheet_AB_2353_Ward-Property_Tax_Welfare_ Exemption.pdf

3. State Legislation

3a. <u>24-0471</u> Assembly Bill 2485 (Carrillo): Regional Housing Needs Determination

Increase transparency and use of outside experts in the state Department of Housing and Community Development's process for determining regional housing needs.

<u>Action:</u> Support / ABAG Executive Board Approval Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Julie Snyder

Attachments: 11a_24-0471_Summary_Sheet_AB_2485_Carrillo_RHND.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Ramos and second by Committee Member Eklund, a support position on AB 2485 (Carrillo) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission for approval, respectively. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

3b.	<u>24-0472</u>	Regional Transportation Measure Authorizing Legislation
		Senate Bill 1031 (Wiener/Wahab): Connect Bay Area Act (MTC-sponsored regional transportation revenue measure authorizing bill).
	Action:	Support Proposed Amendments / MTC Commission Approval
	<u>Presenter:</u>	Rebecca Long
	Attachments:	11b_24-0472_Summary_Sheet_SB1031_Regional_Transp_Measure_
		Authorizing Legislation.pdf
		11b 24-0472 Attachment A MTC Adopted Provisions vs SB 1031
		Comparison 3.26.24.pdf
		11b 24-0472 Attachment B Network Managment and SB 1031 Ov
		erview 4.2.24.pdf
		11b 24-0472 Attachment C Draft Consolidation Study Amendment
		<u>s.pdf</u>
		11b 24-0472 Attachment D Proposed Principles and Expenditure
		Framework SB 1031 Wiener-Wahab.pdf
		11b 24-0472 Attachment E Summary Proposed Amendments SB
		<u>1031 Wiener-Wahab.pdf</u>
		11b_24-0472_Handout_SB_1031_Draft_Guardrails.pdf
		11b 24-0472 Handout-PowerPoint MTC Draft Framework.pdf
		11b_24-0472_Handout_Comments_Received_SB_1031_Wiener-Waha
		<u>b.pdf</u>
		<u>11b_PUBLIC_COMMENT_SanJose_Mayor_Mahan.pdf</u>

Written public comments were received from: SamTrans, Roland Lebrun, Various Organizations listed on the document, and Voices for Public Transportation.

The following individuals spoke on this item: Marjorie Alvord, 350 Bay Area and Genesis; Mary Lim, Genesis; George Spies, Traffic Violence Rapid Response; Ian Griffiths, Seamless Bay Area; Amanda Cruz, BART; Laurel Paget-Seekins, Public Advocates; Bob Allen, Urban Habitat; Emily Loper, Bay Area Council; Vinay Pimple; Anthony, Transbay Coalition; Thea Selby, Voices for Public Transportation; Yasha Zarrinkelk, Urban Habitat; Marcia Lovelace, Genesis and Voices for Public Transportation; Paul Bickmore; Bruce Dughi, BikeWalkCV; Jordan Grimes; Zack Deutsch-Gross, Transform; Sam Sargent, Caltrain; Sebastian Petty, SPUR; Manny Leon, CA Alliance for Jobs; Charley Lavery, Operating Engineers Local 3 Union; Adina Levin, Seamless Bay Area; and Don Cecil, SAMCEDA.

Upon the motion by Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and second by Committee Member Spering, a Support Proposed Amendments position on SB 1031 (Wiener/Wahab) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval. Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci requested Chair Canepa to concur with the emergency procedure to communicate a position on SB 1031 (Wiener/Wahab) prior to the Commission meeting date. Chair Canepa indicated concurrence. This is in conformance with MTC Resolution No. 1058, Revised, MTC Commission Procedures Manual. The motion carried by the following vote: Aye: 13 - Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann

4. Public Comment / Other Business

5. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be held on Friday, May 10, 2024 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA, and other remote locations. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.